Fast approaching 50 while frequently checking the rear view mirror

In a word… or two.

I have been stalking/harassing (for want of a better word or terminology) the many , many… … many how to pages & groups on FB for a little while, & just now, have decided that no more shall I do that. It is completely doing my head in. The pressure on people – or the expectation to deliver stunning results quickly, seems to mean the basics of photography are now overlooked as the manual for the shiny new DSLR is constantly referred to in a search for the perfect settings. “What focus mode should I be in?”…”Do I toggle or leave it fixed”… “Why can’t I get my pictures to look like all those newborn shots on Pinterest?”.

I see these questions over & over again & the threads always turns into a posting rampage of assertions & what could only be described as childish bickering. I’m a little old school I guess, but certainly not a purist, & I shoot digital exclusively now.

I just wish more new & aspiring photogs would slow down a bit. Forget about the idea of having a booming photography business by the end of the holidays & just enjoy playing with the camera & learning the art of capture. So many appear to be getting lost in the sea of information & “shoot like me”,”edit like me” Youtube videos & webinars & “buy this & you will be awesome” actions & presets, that some end up giving up photography after all that as just being too hard when they can’t “quickly” produce the images like all the wonderful examples they see on the internet. That can only be a bad thing for photography in general.

Just my opinion.

One response

  1. True. To an extent it’s fine to Google things you don’t know how to do, but when people spend more time keeping track of the latest thing Mike Brown or Serge Ramelli or whoever has to say on the subject than actually taking photos, they have a problem!

    The Lightroom and Photoshop Presets out there are just bad news really – just handing over creative control to someone selling their own version of what they think makes a photo look good. Some people are also so over reliant on them that they use the same ones on every photo regardless of whether it’s appropriate or not.

    I also realised a lot of us are being far too perfectionistic about the whole thing. For example, photos have always had at least some amount of grain in them in the film days, so then why do we now obsess over every little bit of noise in our photos?

    As for the video link, so true… it was actually nice in the days when people used to invite people over just to show them their photos.

    September 25, 2014 at 10:59 pm

Leave a Reply

